End of summer beginning of a new season

4 Sep

I write these words from my hotel room, it is 10:42pm and I have just finished packing everything in the suitcases, (or should I say thrown in) combed through the room to  make sure nothing has been forgotten, checked in via the airline website, and now with not a moment to spare I decided to write and express myself. This family vacation has been absolutely incredible. We had so much fun and needed this time away, yet it is now time to go.

We were able to share with our children the fun of playing at the beach and pool, under the blazing sun. We also reminded them how important it is to share with family which we have not seen in quite a while and encourage them to love these people who I love so much even though the distance separates us. I feel it is so important for them to acknowledge that even though they do not have frequent interactions with these family members, these people love and adore them. My husband had so much fun and actually confessed to me that he was so happy I had insisted we take a vacation. It gives me so much pleasure to know that he appreciated my insistence, even if he didn’t in the beginning. 🙂

I know we will think of the wonderful times we had as the plane departs the runway and heads for the sky. Ironically, once we reach our destination, the memories are stored in the back of our minds to be brought back up when I download the pictures. I am so thankful that we took this vacation.

School is now upon us with Hannah so it is time to hunker down and prepare for the late nights working on projects and daily homework assignments and after school sports. Nicholas is starting his pre-K in a couple of weeks and we need to give him time to adjust although he is very sociable so that shouldn’t be an issue. The darling Bella will be sad when she realizes neither sibling will be with her but she’ll be fine. And us, the Parents? Well, we will go back to our regular schedules of our children, our jobs, and our business opportunities. I like to prepare for December Holidays from now so that there’s plenty of gifts to go around.

I bid you a good night and to my family and myself a Safe Trip Home.

In Harmony,

“Z”

Leave a Reply

